On what to do with this blog, and talking issues.

First things first I guess. I’m not exactly sure what to do with this blog. Technically speaking I have two, and this one kind of started out as the accompaniment to my parody(?) twitter account. The problem is, both have shifted away from that, where this has become the blog I’ll post to, and that twitter account is the one I tweet with. I never could stick with the roleplaying the zombie doctor bit that I had intended for it, mainly because I’m just not that imaginative.

So this puts me in a tough position. Do I keep this blog, and only this one, or do I let it sit with no new content on it and create one specifically for the stuff I tend to talk about? I have mental pro’s and con’s for both. Mainly, this blog I have some statistics about readers (the few that ever read it), but the whole “Zombie Doctor” bit doesn’t really make sense with my usual subject matter.

I’m not sure it is possible, but if I could just start a new one and transfer specific posts to the new one, I’d probably go that route. At the same time I could probably just drop the “Zombie Doctor” part off of the blog title, and then it would just tie in to my twitter account.

So yeah, some changes might be coming soon.

The other topic I wanted to talk about was talking on voice chat.

As a bit of background, I have been playing with the same group/guild for the last 4 years or so (something like that) and for most of that time I’ve been on and off of the voice chat server that they provide. I’ve gone long stretches without ever getting on it, and that does bother me a little. I think of most of the people as friends that I would hang out with if they lived nearby. There just happen to be times where I don’t really play a lot of PC games, or just don’t feel like talking to other people.

I also feel bad because even when I do log in I’m not the greatest conversationalist. I am not much of a multi-tasker, so playing a game, and talking at the same time is a bit difficult for me. I also don’t really speak up if I don’t feel like I have anything to contribute, and though I occasionally manage to start a discussion, I don’t always manage to continue to be a part of it. I think this probably gives a bad impression to the other people I’m talking to, but it isn’t that I’m not interested, I’m just not sure what to say most of the time.

This is kind of the same in real life as well. Typically I am a quiet person, but when I get on to something I can talk about I have a hard time shutting up. I’ve been told this is kind of annoying, and I like the people I game with so I don’t want to be that annoying guy on voice chat that won’t shut up.

The last reason I tend to not talk a lot is I’m not super comfortable in large groups of people. I feel like I’m more talkative if there is only a small group of people in the chat room, more so if there are a couple specific people there. When the chat room starts getting large, and there is a lot of separate discussions going on is when I start having a harder time speaking up.

That being said, I am very glad I have a these people to talk to. Even if I don’t talk a lot, it’s nice having the company. That is one of the main reasons I even play MMO’s at all. If I didn’t have people to talk to I probably would never have tried playing them past World Of Warcraft.

Leave a Reply

