On League Of Legends Beginners Night

Okay, so I’m possibly going to have a shorter post today, and more of a tale of wonder rather than waxing philosophical. Mainly because I’m super busy at work today and don’t have  a whole lot of time to come up with a good topic. Also a slight schedule change, but I am planning to change my publishing schedule from 7 days a week to just weekdays. I tend to feel less inclined to write over the weekend, plus it would be nice to have a couple days to come up with and prepare for multiple days of posting.

So, with that said, on to the story.

Up until this point I have never played any MOBA period. Quite frankly I had no interest in them since I am not a big fan of PVP or RTS games, because honestly I suck hard at both of those. For a long time though many of the people I talk to regularly on voice chat either played or had played enough to know the lingo and often talked about the matches that they were watching. Which often left me confused when they started talking about lanes and jungle-ing and what not.

So earlier this week (or last week) my friend Bel decided he’d like to put together a League beginners night to try and get some more people interested in the game. I felt like I should join in because I was pretty sure I wasn’t going to have a choice, and figured it might also help to know what these people were always talking about.

So after I got home last night I downloaded and installed the application, and while that was patching up listened to them playing a match. Again I was confused due to lack of personal experience but it sounded like they were having a good time. Eventually I got in, and after a little while we had enough people for a 5v5 match (with one AI controlled character).

I feel slightly bad about how bad I did at the game, especially because my team got stuck with 2 of the 3 lesser experienced players. I didn’t really understand the strategy involved or what I really needed to be doing. Thankfully my friend Ash was in the team channel with us and was able to provide some instructions and answer questions. We did end up losing the match, but overall I had a good time. At the very least I have enough personal knowledge I might know what they are talking about. Not everything though, there are still plenty of things I don’t know. Such as the differences in game modes, or character abilities. But I can at least recognize some of the terminology now.

Overall I had a good time. I think the next time everyone is getting together to play I might try a different class of character. This time I was a melee character and that is not the kind I’m best at. I felt like the character moved to slowly, though I’m sure there are probably items I could purchase to fix that. I think though, next time I would play a ranged character.

Leave a Reply

