On Summer Sales

So another summer has started up and with it have come the now annual Steam summer sales. I’ve heard a few people talking about how the offerings this year are kind of lackluster and that there haven’t been very many good games worth buying. I’d tend to agree with this at least in regards to the major publishers, but overall I think there have been some good buys. Heck I’ve made a few myself. More than I was really expecting too. Granted almost every game I bought was under $5 but the point is that there have been some things worth getting, at least for me.

A side effect of the various Steam sales has become that any game that I want on PC is usually just added to a wishlist and I wait to buy it until it is on sale. There are some games I’m fine with buying right away, but these are usually games that I’ve done a lot of research on and really want to play. As I get older I find it harder and harder to want to part ways with $60 for a new game. Especially when the content length of these games are getting shorter and shorter due to the amount of memory it takes just to have better textures and full voice-over work.

That is why I don’t mind picking up the cheap indie titles. Even when they’re not on sale they’re usually cheaper by comparison and there is a good chance the story will be better. That isn’t to say you might not find a dud. I picked a game up yesterday and tried playing it last night and even though I only spent $2 I’m not sure it was worth that. Normally I think the game goes for $20 and the game is certainly not worth that much.

There are also several charts going around trying to explain the “best” way to make purchasing decisions, but I don’t really subscribe to any of those. I just look at whatever is on sale and do a little bit of reading. If the game sounds good and it’s got enough of a discount I might pick it up.

I mean, it’s not like I can’t afford to waste $5 on a game.

Leave a Reply

